Walk me through your neighbourhood ….. what can you see .. here is my Back Yard Challenge?

An invitation to walk in your neighbourhood and tell us what you see that inspires you , brings you joy  or even makes you sad . Every day I make sure to  observe something that gives me joy , and to be honest, living in Queensland on the Sunshine Coast  in Queensland, Australia, it really is not hard to be inspired. I am forever grateful for the fact that I can breathe clean air, listen to a huge variety of beautiful birds sing and feel the green grass under my feet somewhere close by . I may see beauty in the colours and textures of a native plant such as this beautiful Banksia

IMG_5389

or as I stop by the local pond I just might get lucky enough to see this amazing creature…. gives a whole new meaning to catching a dragon!!img_9248

And right outside my front garden was this noisy little Brown honey eater enjoying the nectar while the dew is still on it first thing in the morning.  Isn’t he sweet?

IMG_5406web

As I was trying to catch Mr Brown, I had that feeling that I was being watched… and lo and behold there was this crazy fella just staring at me from about waist height in the bush next to me….. he is a Spangled Drongo, that is more familiar with the northern ends of our country and hails from the New Guinea area, but with our mild climate many of them decide to settle and call the Sunshine coast home. I am glad to have them and all their silly craziness…such agile fliers and hilarious loud cacklings…. they look amazing in flight with the fish tails and their acrobatics.

IMG_5383

I am often amazed at how beauty struggles through to even the most industrial kind of surroundings ….

img_9300

I would love to see some of your local areas as you walk about each day…. feel free to post and tag this page so that I can see what a day in the life is like at your place.

Lets start with  things that put a smile on your face and then we can progress to other challenges .

Being Australian … lets call this the Backyard challenge

11 thoughts on “Walk me through your neighbourhood ….. what can you see .. here is my Back Yard Challenge?”

  1. Hello Adrienne 🙂

    These pictures are such a treat on this weekend.
    I feel you are right, life and beauty thrive despite all harsh conditions.
    Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures.

    Love and light ❤
    Anand 🙂

  2. I love this site…I’ll be back later to see some more. I am wondering something…since my grandfather was born in Australia (his father too, and maybe more)–can I claim to be Australian?

    1. Ha ha… I really do not know the answer to your question there, but I doubt that with the way of the world these days. I have lived here for most of my life since I was 21 , having been born in New Zealand and even I cannot claim it !!!! I have to go through the multitude of forms and applications to become a citizen. But you really should come and see where your grandfather was born 🙂
      Thank you for your kind words about my site, it is very much a reactionary process at the moment… I see challenges and then answer them !! I am hoping to do more original work as I get more familiar with the platform. this was something i always wanted to do ass I m astounded at the natural beauty in the little things every day.
      Look forward to you dropping by in the future

      1. My grandfather was born in Grafton, on the East coast of Australia. He ran away from home on a sailing ship, and came to the U.S., where he met his to-be-wife, and … here I am. (according to family lore)

      2. He must have been an adventurer then… good for him , that is truly the Aussie spirit!!! Grafton is in New South Wales and has a lot of history, on the Clarence River in the Northern rivers district. It is a beautiful place to visit that area, my favourite area to drive through on our way down to Sydney from Brisbane

Leave a Reply

